Account Login





(enter last name or firm name)





Contact Information

Board Member & Staff Info

Meeting Schedule & Minutes

Financial Report

Newsletter Archive

Complaints

Approved Regulations




CPA Exam Instructions

CPA Exam Scores

CPA Exam Application

Re-Print Your NTS  NEW

NASBA Payment Coupon

Candidate Exam Tips

150 Hour Education Req.

Foreign Evaluation Providers

CPA Exam Guide

Exam Score Timeline FAQ




License Application Status

Licensing & Certification Req.

Firm Registration

Practice Privilege

Fingerprinting




Account Login

CPE Audit

License Renewal

Continuing Education Req.

Peer Review Req.

Online Peer Review

Ethics Requirement




Forms & Applications

Contractors Board Affidavit

Change of Address Form

Related Websites

State of Nevada Website

Privacy Policy


Home|Online CPE Audit|Forms & Applications|Code of Professional Conduct|Statutes|Regulations

License Renewal Process

CPA's & PA's annual permit to engage in the practice of public accounting expires every year on December 31st. Permits to practice must be renewed and postmarked by January 31st.
 

2014 ONLINE LICENSE RENEWALS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABLE

 


LICENSE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS

SAVE $$ AND RENEW YOUR LICENSE ON-LINE

Save $20 if you renew your CPA license on-line. If you submit your license via the Board's website your license renewal fee is reduced by $20. Visit www.nvaccountancy.com and follow the instructions to submit your renewal on-line.

RENEWAL FEE & PAYMENT

Paying by Credit Card
If you submit your renewal on-line the renewal fee will be $120.
The Board will accept credit cards via on-line submission only.
The Board accepts Visa, Mastercard & American Express

Paying by Check or Money Order
If you submit your renewal by mail the renewal fee will be $140
Please make checks or money orders made payable to the Nevada State Board of Accountancy.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT RENEWAL

Renewals must be postmarked (mail) or submitted (on-line) by January 31, 2014. If the postmark or submission is after January 31, 2014 a late fee of $100 will be assessed. A postmark is a post office cancellation stamp. A postmark is not the date provided from an office postage meter. If you submit your renewal to an accounts payable department for payment of your license fee, it is still your responsibility to assure that the payment and license renewal form have been received by the board in a timely manner.

COMPLETE RENEWAL FORM

Please verify that you have completed the following information:
  • Update your name, address and telephone number in the boxes provided (PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY)
  • Complete the CPE Verification and CPE Reporting Form sections of the renewal form.
  • Answer the Child Support information that includes your social security number.
  • Answer all of the Self Reporting questions.
  • Sign & Date the Renewal Form

Please be advised that the mailing address you provide will be posted on the Board's website.

DO NOT WISH TO RENEW YOUR LICENSE?

Please note ACTION must be taken with your CPA Certificate by choosing one of the following or by renewing your license. Pursuant to NRS 628.390, the Board can revoke the certificate issued to you in Nevada for your failure to obtain an annual permit. Inactive & Retired Status requires Board Approval. You must submit the appropriate form to the board office by January 31, 2014 for Board consideration at their next scheduled meeting. Forms can be obtained at www.nvaccountancy.com

INACTIVE STATUS
Inactive Status will qualify for individuals that are no longer involved or employed in the financial functions of business or government, including the supervision of such functions in Nevada or any other state. An individual granted "Inactive Status" is prohibited from practicing or holding themselves out as licensed to practice accounting or use of the CPA designation.

RETIRED STATUS
Retired Status will qualify for individuals that are no longer involved with activities in the profession of public or private accounting upon the attainment of at least 60 years of age or upon becoming permanently disabled and no longer gainfully employed. Any employment related to the financial functions of business or government, including the supervision of such functions, will be considered as active involvement in the accounting profession and will disqualify the licensee from Retired status. An individual granted "Retired Status" must include the word "retired" immediately following each reference to the CPA designation on a business card, letterhead or similar document.

VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
If you do not qualify for Inactive or Retired status you may voluntarily surrender your Nevada CPA license by returning your certificate to this office. This would remove you from the rolls of Nevada CPAs. If you choose this option your file will be maintained indefinitely and at the time you wish to return as a CPA you would need to provide the board with 40 hours of CPE, an application fee and some updated forms.

CPE REQUIREMENT
Continuing education submitted for credit in 2013 must have been completed within the 2013 calendar year. 80 CPE hours are required over a rolling two year period. Rolling two year reporting periods would be as follows: 2011/2012, 2012/2013. For example, if you provided 30 hours in 2012 your requirement for 2013 will be 50 hours, for a total of 80 hours for the two-year period. The rolling aspect of the requirement would continue with 2013 of 50 hours and 2014 requiring 30 hours.

ETHICS REQUIREMENT
New regulations require that licensees obtain at least of 4 hours in ethics every two-year period. The ethics requirement is included within the annual requirement. The Board will be looking for compliance during the 2012/2013 calendar years. Based on the year the licensee completes the ethics course, the requirement will then roll every other year.

CPE REPORTING FORM
In lieu of completing the CPE reporting form, you may attach your own summary sheet or computer print out of the CPE you are claiming. Do not attach supporting documents or completion certificates

CPE COURSES AND CREDIT
Please refer to Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 628.210 - 628.250 to obtain current information on continuing education credits and allowable courses. Note: Nevada accepts QAS hours. If your certificate of completion reflects QAS hours you may claim those hours on your renewal form.

CPE AUDIT
The Board's policy to encourage compliance with the CPE requirements is to audit 20% of the licensee population for CPE claimed on the license renewal forms. Please be advised that based on the random selection process it is possible to be selected each year.

DO NOT CLAIM CREDIT FOR COURSES THAT HAVE NOT BEEN COMPLETED.

OUT OF STATE CPE EXEMPTION
New Regulations now allow for an out of state licensee to claim a CPE exemption from Nevada's requirements if you reside in AND are licensed in another state other than Nevada. You must be in compliance with that state's CPE requirements. If that state does not have CPE requirements, then you must comply with Nevada's requirements for CPE.

NEW LICENSEE & OUT OF STATE CPE EXEMPTION
If your reporting requirement indicates 0 you are considered exempt from the CPE requirement pursuant to NAC 628.210(2)(3) based on being licensed in the year 2013 OR you reside outside NV, are compliant with your home state's CPE requirements and previously reported this information on your last year's renewal form.

HAVEN'T COMPLETED YOUR CPE?
If you have not completed your continuing education requirement in the appropriate calendar year, a CPE Administrative Complaint will be issued providing the following extensions and penalties:

CPE completed during the period January 1 - 31, 2014     $100 penalty
CPE completed during the period Feb 1 - Mar 31, 2014     $350 penalty
CPE completed during the period Apr 1 - May 31, 2014     $850 penalty
CPE completed during the period Jun 1 - Jul 31, 2014     $1600 penalty

The Board will send you a CPE shortage letter and track your progress through the extension/penalty phase. If the CPE shortage has not been satisfied by the last extension period, no further extensions will be granted and the board will issue a formal complaint for violation of continuing education requirements.

It is important that you send your renewal in by the deadline date even if you are in the process of completing your CPE. If the renewal is not submitted by the deadline date a late penalty will be assessed.

Online renewal will be available starting December 1st


©2014 Nevada State Board of Accountancy - Ph: 775-786-0231 Disclaimer|Complaints|Privacy Policy|Contact Information